62 talented finalists announced across 15 categories of excellence.

November 14, 2019 (Scottsdale, AZ) – The Professional Beauty Association (PBA) is excited to announce the finalists in the 31 st annual North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA). As the top hair, makeup, and nail competition in North America, NAHA is the premiere platform for beauty professionals to push the boundaries and bring their artistic vision to life. For the second year, NAHA will take place during the International Salon and Spa Expo (ISSE) show on January 25, 2020.

Each year, industry artists submit their work which often takes months of planning, shooting, and editing and are judged by a blind panel of judges, many of which were selected through a call for new judges for 2020. Finalists are chosen by an anonymous process with no contact between judges or knowledge of artist names to ensure anonymity and fairness, and enabling a true celebration of excellence, creativity, and technical ability.

This year’s finalist candidates span fifteen categories of excellence across hair, makeup and nail artistry. Finalists include:

Avante Garde:

  • Rodrigo Araneda
  • Damien Carney
  • Dilek Onur Taylor
  • Francesca Rivetti
  • Jamie Wiley

Editorial/Session Stylist of the Year:

  • Lucie Doughty
  • Ruth Roche
  • Ashley Stewart
  • Lisa Von Kurvink
  • Jamie Wiley


  • Rodrigo Araneda
  • Chrystofer Benson
  • Genia Church
  • Rossa Jurenas
  • Sharie Valcin


  • Rodrigo Araneda
  • Chris Baran
  • Chrystofer Benson
  • Sharie Valcin
  • Yuki Yasui

Hairstylist of the Year:

  • Chrystofer Benson
  • Dilek Onur Taylor
  • Morgan Roy
  • Silas Tsang
  • Julie Vriesinga

Makeup Artist of the Year:

  • Daryna Barykina
  • Marie-Laure Larrieu
  • Noel McKinnon
  • Kate Nash
  • Tiaja Pierre Master

Hairstylist of the Year:

  • Chris Baran
  • Chrystofer Benson
  • Ruth Roche
  • Allen Ruiz
  • Julie Vriesinga

Men’s Hairstylist of the Year:

  • Nieves Almaraz
  • Ammon Carver
  • Jamie DiGrazia
  • Jacqueline Figueroa
  • Charles Robinson

Nail Professional of the Year:

  • Wendi Barker
  • Cassandra Clark
  • Kayla Deus
  • Rochelle Dingman
  • Delia Hutchinson

Newcomer Stylist of the Year:

  • Keith Bryce
  • Natalie Cacciatore
  • Cassie Carey
  • Angela Debono
  • Lyuba Gadd

Salon/School Design of the Year:

  • Album Hair, Toronto
  • BOSS HAIR GROUP, Chicago
  • Jolie Beauty Bar, Toronto
  • Ryan M Scottsdale, Scottsdale
  • TONI&GUY Galleria, Dallas

Student Hairstylist of the Year:

  • Mackenzie Dean, Aveda Institute Denver
  • Dorothy Greene, Aveda Institute Columbus
  • Matthew Leadabrand, Aveda Institute Los Angeles
  • Kaitlyn Rudie, Aveda Frederic’s Institute Cincinnati
  • Bailey Stone, Aveda Institute Des Moines

Styling and Finishing:

  • Ammon Carver
  • Adrian Gutierrez
  • Cory Hoffman
  • Michelle O’Connor
  • Dilek Onur Taylor

Team of The Year:

  • Ammon Carver Studio
  • Chrystofer Benson Studio
  • RK Artistic Squad
  • Salon by Instyle Design Team
  • Ulta Beauty Design Team


  • Aprille Bouchard
  • Adrian Gutierrez
  • Jose Luis Buitron
  • Dilek Onur Taylor
  • Norm Wright

The Live NAHA event kicks off with a red carpet reception from 6-8 pm, followed by the awards ceremony from 8-10:30 pm on January 25, 2020 at the Long Beach Convention Center Terrace Theater in Los Angeles County.

Tickets are on sale at, with special packages exclusively available to Professional Beauty Association members. The awards ceremony will also stream online at For more information, please visit; get inspired and learn more about the most prestigious night in beauty.

For media credentials, please contact


When using NAHA images, please include the PBA NAHA logo (or name) with the credit “NAHA 2020 Finalist” followed by the stylist’s name and category. NAHA images must include “Courtesy of Professional Beauty Association” and photographer credit if possible. 2020 NAHA finalist photos can be found HERE.